top of page

Week 32: The bloody dome

So I'm feeling much better this week and i'm thrilled to be back working on it. However this is the last week of making stuff!

So at the start of the week the main focus was to try and sort out this dome above the temple. As Ben keeling said a while back the temple was lacking some circular aspects to it and would benefit from a dome like structure. Previously i quickly grabbed mark's pot turned it upside down and used a small temple asset trim to block out a generic dome shape.

I really liked the idea however there were concerns about the size of some parts of the dome like having such a giant ruby, of course this was primarily done to show the shape language rather than the context of what's on show. Never the less I started by making a simple dome like objects and took screenshots of which I photobashed a general look.

I went through it with Mark and Denise, coming up with different shapes and styles.

Mark liked the idea of having the dome and was content however Denise did not. She preffered the square shaped structure of this.

I asked if it was because the dome was untextured and she agreed that she prefers the already placed roof top there because it's finished and in the interest of saving time we decided not to continue with the dome.

But Mark and I agreed that it felt rather odd and randomly placed. I looked back at some of the architectural buildings of temples and simply went with this design. I feel it harkens back to the cultural structure of Indonesian temples yet also still being visually appealing. not only that it saved me a lot of time and worry on rushing to get that particular piece finished in time.

The rest of this week has been writing and populating of the level. I went through the sections that the player was going through and made bricks that will be sticking out the modular walls. These bricks were inspired by the set dressing in Dark Souls 3.

I used the bricks to line the walls to create a more destroyed and realistic environment. I started by hand placing every brick making sure to line up with the underlying texture however this became too long and the result with hap hazardly placing still gives a nice result so in the interest in saving time and allowing me to have more creative freedom I began placing them as I see fit.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page