top of page

Week 4: Exciting adventures in SPAAACE

This time round in my style matrix I've gone and chosen an environment piece. At the start i was contemplating whether to do a partially stylised behind the door sci fi room or to try a realistic new york roof top project. Initially I wanted to do the rooftop project as it is very interesting. i could push it quite far as I immediately thought of the rooftop multiplayer level of Gears of War: Judgement and how many hours I spent playing that map. But ultimately I felt that it was going to be too demanding in the short space of time especially with what i had in mind.

So i've gone for a Sci Fi behind the door room. I read an article the other day about a NASA mission that centered around examining asteroids and in future possibly mining them for their resources. Link is Here.

It got me thinking about asteroid mining in the future and how science fiction have showed asteroid mining in movies (okay armaggeddon was more like destroy the asteroid). so it made sense to make a simple hangar bay overlooking a mining operation.

I searched online for some inspiration for the style and design that I'm looking for in my asteroid hangar bay and then put them into a moodboard.

Here is some simple sketches on pen and paper.

I did a few blockouts this week to test out some area but I'm stuck on how to push this further. I'm not sure whether to expand on the design of the vault door that the brief gave or if i can within the brief constraints changed the style.

I looked at some space station designs from different mediums, one in particular from the doctor who episode titled 42 sprung to mind when looking at Paul Pepera's red industrial style vault door.

It's been a rather slow week as I have only made the vault door and some parts of the modular kit but hopefully i can get more done next week.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page