top of page

Week 5: Behind the Door


This week I focused on making the modular pieces for my environment. I previously worked with modular tile pieces in my Off the Map pavement pieces and walls however I had trouble lining texture wise. I also made more moodboards to prepare myself on when I get to lighting in engine.

This is the basic assembly of the hangar bay in 3ds max. I still need to finish unwrapping everything however with the walls and floor pieces as it is a simple square it can be planar unwrap. I also made some crates for the usual sci-fi clutter.

Here is the completed modular kit that will serve as the building blocks for the engine.

I looked into making my own skybox for the space background as it would look odd to put it into the default UE4 skybox. A little programme called star scape which was confusing and difficult to understand however their premade examples of star scapes were exactly what I'm looking for.

As i understood it since everyone else would not be creating their own skyboxes and using the default UE4 skybox I chose to not include it into the texture budget and tri budget. (cheeky i know)

Onto next week!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page