top of page

Week 13~14: The beginning of the end. FMP

I can't believe I've reached my last university project so quickly, 3 years goes fast when you're having fun. anyway after a long talk with our tutors and some more collaboration between each other we seem to have gone with the Balinese temple

To start this project off me and Mark came into the labs during our last week of Christmas holiday to get a head on this project. We made good progress on making blockouts of the level, our iterations and idea generation was fast.

During the Christmas break I drew out some basic level layouts and environment sketches that helped Mark and I blockout the level.

Sketches

I gathered as much images together in pintrest as I could to further inform Mark and denise on the shape language of the Traditional Indonesian Architecture and the Flora and Fauna that were present around the archipelago.

We then collected our images that we found as part of our research and collated them onto the whiteboard so that we have a visual library to constantly refer back to.

As this was a ruin temple I suggested the idea to follow in the foot steps of Tomb raider and uncharted.

At first the idea was to include three parts in the environment so that there is a relative progression and journey that the player goes through, the first iteration was to include a village area, a path that leads to the temple with the jungle scenery and then a temple section.

This was then cut down to a small exterior of the village as the tutors mentioned that the level was far too big, Craig and Mike mentioned that the best and most interesting areas would be the temple exterior and the temple interior as they wanted to be able to explore the ruins.

I started blocking out the temple interior but after a few play testing we found it rather too big so with further iteration i shrunk it down further.

Here is a screenshot of the interior currently.

To further research the environment as I wanted to get the level feeling as realistic to the environment as possible I got in contact with some of my family in Indonesia in order for them to get first hand reference photos of the architecture and plants.

I'm currently waiting on their response, hopefully it will be useful to the project. especially for texture creation.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page