top of page

Week 17: First hand Reference!

So i'm excited to announce that my I've been able to get a hold of some first hand reference photos from my family and friends in indonesia. My friend Maya was kind enough to visit two temples!

She was travelling around meeting family and she happened to be in Yogyakarta which is home to many religious temples, one of which is the stunning Borobudur.

She kindly visited Borobudur and Mendut which is rather a distance from Yogyakarta city itself so If you're reading this Maya thank you so much I'm eternally grateful!

In terms of assets created this week, I refined the Landscape textures as there needed to be a simple mud texture that looked wetter than the dry cracked initial versions.

I sculpted 3 cliff rocks that will be baked down and used as part of the environment and vista area including the cave scene. Mark sculpted 1 cliff rock as he wanted a particular shape.

I baked the rocks down and I've placed them into the level.

A note to mention about making rocks is the power of using alphas. Initially I was sculpting the rocks by hand using brushes like Mallet fast brush and Clay Tubes on sub, but mark pointed out his way of making rocks which is just slapping alphas on everywhere and it seems to be the quickest way of making cliff rocks. I'll make sure to approach it this way in the future as I again was overthinking the rock sculpt.

The vista shot needed population and using Dom's Spline tool and Mark's cross section for the rice paddy, I quickly duplicated the rice paddies about to see how it worked. it feels like it's getting there now.

I had a chat with our tutor Casto and he commented that the interior looked rather generic so with him I came up with the idea of incorporating a sprawling cave but darkly lit. Mark quickly blocked it out.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page