top of page

Week 18: Sculpting eagles is hard.

The Cliff rock's are textured and now comes the hard part, Sculpting the feather was a bit of a difficult task, at first I didn't know how best to approach it and looking back now I'm not sure if how I approached it was correct.

Mark mentioned of a video that extracted meshes from alphas and mirroring them in Zbrush. I created a quick alpha from Denise's concepts for the feather and then used that technique. It was hard to get a nice edge on the sculpt, the process was more trial and error hence why it took so long to get my desired result.

when it came to retopoing the feather I hit a problem with the sculpt, there are areas where in order to get a deep feather look in stone i had to use a strong setting on the orbs crack. but this would present some problems with the normal bake because the depth is so a lot. I toiled over the retopo but in the end i went with a simple low poly and hope that it would'nt be noticeable by the player, this was done in order to save time.

I still had to create the Eagle and I began with some Zspheres to get the basic form of the eagle part Denise wanted. Craig's given me some nice zbrush brushes notably the grunge rock one set on spray gives a nice texture onto stone pieces.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page