top of page

Week 22: Change the temple.

Here is a quick sculpt of a tree I did that will be used in the level, it has no top canopy because we decided that we would use Dom's tool and Mark's branch mesh and texture to create the canopy.

So the issue of the temple courtyard feeling too big was addressed this week, after explaining my view we changed the layout of the temple so that it took away a layer of stairs and shortened the area further, this was a trial and error appraoch as everytime we scaled it down it felt like a corridor and everytime we opened up the sides it began to feel more like a crater.

I made some quick temple modular pieces for Mark to start populating the level with. I tried to make the pieces as close to the architectural style of Temples such as Mendut and Prambanan.

Some pieces did not snap together perfectly in engine as Mark informed me so I had to Fix them.

I spoke to Mike about how best to texture the Wall assets in the level. I showed him my intentions of sculpting each individual modular piece with a unique texture on the brick but after speaking to him and discussing my options, it was made clear that just a simple tileable wall brick texture will do fine. I'm a bit worried of glaring seams in the temple meshes as It will be used everywhere and the game is in first person.

There is an environment artist called Michael Vicente who made a nice tiling brick wall texture for a game called crasher.

The style is stylised however the process is the main thing I want to emulate so I've created a brick wall base mesh that I will sculpt to create the tileable wall.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page